Andrew Best on judging panel for WAN 21 for 21 awards

Andrew Best

01/05/2012 Written by: R Davies

Andrew Best, Partner at BuroHappold joined the judging panel for the WAN 21 for 21 awards recently to determine which practices had the potential to be leading architectural lights for the future. 

The shortlist was examined multiple times to award appropriate commendation to practices, however when it came to deciding the winners, a heated debate took place.  Watch a snippet of the judging here

Five winning practices were a credited last year and with this year's eight, WAN is over halfway through their search to finding their winning twenty one firms. The broad array of entries shows what a bright future the architectural industry will have to offer and what beauty will manifest from these practices over the 21st century.

The winning eight submissions demonstrated clarity, extraordinary vision and strength in the context of their proposals. Some of their existing structures serve as masterpieces of thoughtful design and engineering. Overall these winners certainly have the ambition, drive and ability to impact the nature of architecture over the course of the 21st century.

The Winning Practices were:-

Vo Trong Nghia Co. Ltd

HHF Architects

Rintala Eggertsson Architects

MAD Architects

Helen & Hard

Cloud 9


Kere Architecture

Chaired by Peter Murray, Andrew was joined on the juding panel by Patrick Schumacher from Zaha Hadid Architects,  Jack Carter from Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Michael Cheetham, Architectural Student from the University of Brighton, Craig Dykers from Snohetta, Reiulf Ramstad from Reiulf Ramstad Arkitekter and Julien De Smedt from JDS Architects

Filter by...

Search filters