2013 Civic Trust Awards - winners revealed

Civic Trust awards

11/03/2013 Written by: Gill Sincock

A number of BuroHappold projects received recognition in the recently announced UK Civic Trust awards for 2013. In all seven BuroHappold projects were announced as outright winners of the award with three receiving commendations from the judges.

The acclaimed London 2012 Olympics and Paralympic Games proved a popular choice in the awards with the main Olympic Stadium and the Olympic Park, masterplan and parklands scooping honours. BuroHappold worked as part of Team Stadium to create the main Olympic Stadium, a simple dismantlable superstructure with an innovative lightweight cable supported roof. The consultancy also worked on both the original masterplanning and design of the London Olympic Park and Legacy proposals and, following the successful bid in 2005, the revised masterplan as part of the EDAW Consortium (AECOM Consortium).

The consultancy’s role on the Olympic Velodrome which received a special award for Olympic and Paralympic projects was to provide access consultancy, a key priority at the Games. The venue was also a finalist in the Selwyn Goldsmith award for universal design. BuroHappold delivered structural, civil, fire, geotechnical and geo-contamination engineering, access consultancy and CDM for the Olympic Water Polo Venue which was commended by the judges.

The seven winning projects are

The following projects were commended by the Civic Trust judges:

For the full list of Civic Trust award winners please click here

Filter by...

Search filters